RSS

It’s Been a While

23 Mar

Yeah, yeah, it’s been a while since I posted. No need for me to apologize to any anonymous audience because it’s self-deprecating and meaningless anyway. Instead of jumping onto broad resolutions that barely last moments, I’ll just play this one by ear. I’ll try to update this a bit more often, but I’m not gonna let myself worry if I don’t. I’ve wanted to have a place to blog for a while and now that I have it, I’ll write – given that I’ve been recently re-energized to the idea of blogging again by friends. Thanks guys, this may actually be the start of something good.

I’m gonna take this blog in a different direction. I know it had started off with the intention of being a technophile’s xanadu – I just don’t have the time to do software reviews and predictions/opinions. Instead, I’m gonna make this a bit more personal and about me. Truly though, it’s not much different than my original idea anyway – tech stuff represents who I am as best as anything else you’re ever likely to hear on this place. The past few years have all been about figuring out what it is that I can relate myself too; probably not the most unexpected thing. But I really feel like I might’ve found it now. That’s good stuff.

Before college, I was kinda stuck between studying math, physics, and comp sci. There were aspects of all that I really liked but I couldn’t quite pinpoint what it was in particular that ticked me. One semester having passed and neck-deep in the second, I’ve got it now. I have no idea how long this’ll last but I sure hope it does stay this way, considering it’s about time I started shifting my life towards it. What I’m talking about is computer science. I’ve found that it is this that inspires me more than anything else I’ve studied thus far at Princeton. If it’s one thing I’ve realized, it’s that you really learn a LOT here. Classes go by really fast, professors are always eager to move on to the next big topic, and it’s sometimes hard to catch a break. I was thinking the other day and realized what my ideas about Princeton were: The way I’d say it is: Princeton for me is about tiredness, stress, exhaustion, pain, and absolute awe. It’s the last one that makes it all worthwhile. The best example I can currently think of is my comp sci class itself. Early in the morning, I have to bike uphill quite a bit and quite fast in order to get to class on time. I get there and I’m always gasping for breath, aching from riding so fast, and if it’s cold or rainy, I’m fairly miserable. But when I actually do walk into class and my professor gets into the lecture, I realize why it is that in my mind, the gains outweigh the costs. There’s something quite quirky, strange, and magical about the world and I’m beginning to see it unraveled piece by piece. More to come.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
