RSS

Google Code Jam 2010!

09 May

This Saturday marked the start of this year’s Google Code Jam. It’s bascially this big worldwide competition that anyone can participate in. Essentially, you can use any freely available language and any IDE/OS/Text Editor/Compiler you want to produce your code. You think you have a solution and then you download a Small Input file, after which you have four minutes to submit the corresponding output file along with your source code. Then there’s a Large Input file for which you have eight minutes to solve. The questions are basically algorithmic in nature and cover the usual CS contest topics. Efficiency is somewhat important for the small input and critical for the second. So anyway yesterday was the Qualifying Round, which was 24 hrs long and consisted of three questions. I ended up solving all three small inputs correctly and submitted one large input which was correct. I also solved another large input but not in enough time :(. In the next few posts, I’ll post my solutions and explanations. But as a result of my solutions, I did qualify for the next round! It’s in about 13 days time and obviously will be way tougher, but I’m looking forward to it! It was awesome fun working on these solutions and actually rather re-energizing regardless of the ridiculous anxiety caused by the momentary latency between submission and result (on the order of ~0.5s). Updates coming soon!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Google Code Jam 2010!

  1. Anon

    May 9, 2010 at 9:37 PM

    What’s your ID?

    I did around the same, all three small input and 2 large input. I’m guessing the GCD one? I brute forced the GCD solution for the small input, but there’s a formula, I’m trying to figure it out by looking at other people’s solutions.

     
  2. Anon

    May 9, 2010 at 9:40 PM

    What’s your ID?

    I did about the same, all 3 small inputs and 2 large inputs. I brute forced the GCD small input; turns out it’s a formula, I’m trying to figure it out looking at other solutions.

     
  3. Anon

    May 9, 2010 at 9:45 PM

    What’s your ID?

    What’s your ID?

    I did around the same, all three small input and 2 large input. I’m guessing the GCD one? I brute forced the GCD solution for the small input, but there’s a formula, I’m trying to figure it out by looking at other people’s solutions.

     
  4. jrupac

    May 13, 2010 at 3:03 AM

    I’m jrupac on the Code Jam as well. What’s your ID?

    For the GCD one, I had a fast algorithm that computed the large input (using BigInteger – I used Java) extremely quickly; just negligibly slower than for the small input.

     
  5. Anon

    May 14, 2010 at 2:41 PM

    Heh, whoops, I wasn’t sure if the comments posted, it didn’t seem to work.

    I use C++ because while Java is easier to code in initially, C++ is really a lot more powerful, and you can really crank out fast, short solutions (check out some of the TopCoder solutions in C++, from ACRush or something, they’re insanely short). Plus, you don’t have to worry about weird Java quirks.

     
  6. Anxiety Attacks

    May 15, 2010 at 9:50 AM

    This reminds me of this quote: “Fortunately analysis is not the only way to resolve inner conflicts. Life itself still remains a very effective therapist.” Karen Horney

     

Leave a Reply

 
